Main Content

Fair Housing: It is Your Right!

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, better known as the Fair Housing Act (FHA), made it unlawful to discriminate in any aspect relating to the sale, rental or financing of housing or in the provisions of brokerage services or facilities in connection with the sale or rental of a dwelling because of:


  National Origin
  Familial Status (when there are children under the age of 18 and/or a pregnant women)

The Fair Housing Amendments of 1988 was enacted to strengthen the administrative enforcement provisions of Title VIII and it added prohibitions against discrimination in housing on the basis of disability and familial status. It also provides for the award of monetary damages where discriminatory housing practices are found. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is the federal agency with primary responsibility for enforcing the Fair Housing Act. Since the passage of the FHA, there have been great improvements in providing equal housing opportunity. However, discrimination still exists, making the FHA an extremely important tool in fighting against housing discrimination.

Here are some additional links to help you understand more about fair housing:


Fair Housing Laws
Update to the Analysis of Impediments

Fair Housing Training and Resources

Housing Discrimination Complaint App for iPhone and iPad
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Florida Commission on Human Relations

National Fair Housing Alliance 

Learn More about Fair Housing